Press releases

East Midlands NHS 111 contract awarded

A new contract to provide the NHS 111 telephone service across the East Midlands has been awarded to a consortium of Derbyshire Health United (DHU) and East Midlands Ambulance Service (EMAS) NHS Trust.

Following an extensive procurement process, the DHU and EMAS consortium was chosen from a shortlist of four potential suppliers by the 19 clinical commissioning groups who will jointly commission the NHS 111 service for the East Midlands. 

Dawn Smith, Chief Officer at NHS Nottingham City CCG and Senior Responsible Officer for the NHS 111 East Midlands procurement, said: “We are pleased to announce that a consortium of Derbyshire Health United and East Midlands Ambulance Service NHS Trust has been chosen as the preferred provider for the contract to deliver the NHS 111 service for the East Midlands across the geographical areas of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire, Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Rutland and Northamptonshire.

“We undertook a thorough and rigorous procurement process over the past few months which involved clinicians, specialists and managers from across the area in the decision-making. Our focus was on selecting a provider who will work across all counties to support the development of integrated urgent care services on a local basis. The DHU and EMAS bid evidenced how the consortium will work in partnership to provide best value in delivering this important service for patients.”

The DHU and EMAS consortium will take over the contract from October 2016 and will provide the 24/7 NHS 111 telephone service to a population of more than 4.8 million.

The 19 clinical commissioning groups jointly commissioning the 111 service for the East Midlands are:

  1. Mansfield & Ashfield CCG
  2. Newark & Sherwood CCG
  3. Nottingham North & East CCG
  4. Nottingham City CCG
  5. Nottingham West CCG
  6. Rushcliffe CCG
  7. Erewash CCG
  8. Hardwick CCG
  9. North Derbyshire CCG
  10. Southern Derbyshire CCG
  11. Lincolnshire East CCG
  12. Lincolnshire West CCG
  13. South Lincolnshire CCG
  14. South West Lincolnshire CCG
  15. East Leicestershire & Rutland CCG
  16. West Leicestershire CCG
  17. Leicester City CCG
  18. Nene CCG
  19. Corby CCG

Published: 5 April 2016